Science Outside the Lab - North

About the SOTL - North

Science Outside the Lab (SOtL) North is a deep-dive, immersive introduction to science, policy, and societal impacts. Students spend one week at the ISSP at the University of Ottawa (Ontario) and at Concordia University in Montreal (Québec), developing skills that will help them understand and succeed in their endeavours at the intersection of science and society.

During the week-long workshop, participants (including Master's and PhD students, as well as Postdocs and young professionals) meet and interact with the people who fund, regulate, shape, critique, publicize, and study science, including government scientists, funding agency officers, science-focused interest groups, science communicators, academics, museum curators, and others. It’s a high-paced, high-intensity opportunity to build a professional network, learn about the wide-range of opportunities for scientists to affect policy and government, and to develop the skills needed to succeed in professional lives outside the lab.

The program

A typical day at SOtL is packed from morning until evening. Most days are centred on 90-minute 'expert discussions,' where we are joined by someone who works at the science, policy, and society interface. The group leads these conversations through questions, exploring everything from the intricacies of policy development and museum curation, to work-life balance and how they navigated career-building. Some of these experts visit us in the classroom, and others require power-walking across Ottawa from office to office. We discuss and debate these perspectives over breakfast at the residence, locally-catered lunches in the classroom, and happy hours in the evening.

The program takes place under an adapted version of Chatham House Rules, which allows participants to take notes and share what they've learned, while not attributing quotations to particular speakers or participants. This is essential to creating an environment where speakers and participants alike feel like they can share candidly, openly, and honestly. By design, the program is immersive, intense, and experiential.

Support Organisations

SOtL North is supported by the Centre for Engineering in Society at Concordia University, the Institute for Science, Society and Policy at the University of Ottawa, the University of Waterloo Chair in Science and Society, the Center for Expressive Technologies at California Polytechnic State University, and the School for the Future of Innovation in Society at Arizona State University.

Back to top

Science Outside the Lab - North

À propos du SOTL - North

Science Outside the Lab (SOtL) North est une introduction immersive aux impacts scientifiques, politiques et sociétaux. Les étudiants passent une semaine à l'ISSP de l'Université d'Ottawa (Ontario) et à l'Université Concordia à Montréal (Québec), où ils acquièrent des compétences qui les aideront à comprendre et à réussir leurs projets au carrefour de la science et de la société.

Au cours de l'atelier d'une semaine, les participants (y compris les étudiants en maîtrise et au doctorat, ainsi que les post-doctorants et les jeunes professionnels) rencontrent et dialoguent avec les personnes qui financent, régulent, modèlent, critiquent, publient et étudient la science, y compris des scientifiques gouvernementaux, un organisme de financement officiers, groupes d'intérêt axés sur la science, communicateurs scientifiques, universitaires, conservateurs de musée et autres. C’est une occasion intense et intense de créer un réseau professionnel, d’en apprendre davantage sur le large éventail de possibilités offertes aux scientifiques d’affecter les politiques et le gouvernement et de développer les compétences nécessaires pour réussir dans la vie professionnelle en dehors du laboratoire.

Le programme

Une journée typique à SOtL est pleine du matin au soir. La plupart des journées sont centrées sur des «discussions d'experts» de 90 minutes, auxquelles associe une personne travaillant à l'interface science, politique et société. Le groupe dirige ces conversations à travers des questions, explorant tout, des complexités de l'élaboration des politiques et de la conservation dans les musées, à la conciliation travail-vie personnelle et à la manière dont elles ont conduit à la construction de carrière. Certains de ces experts nous rendent visite dans la salle de classe et d'autres ont besoin d'énergie pour marcher d'un bureau à l'autre. Nous discutons de ces points de vue et en débattons lors du petit-déjeuner à la résidence, des déjeuners servis dans la classe et des heures de détente en soirée.

Le programme se déroule selon une version adaptée des règles de Chatham House, qui permet aux participants de prendre des notes et de partager ce qu'ils ont appris, sans attribuer de devis à des orateurs ou à des participants particuliers. Cela est essentiel pour créer un environnement dans lequel les orateurs et les participants ont le sentiment de pouvoir partager de manière franche, ouverte et honnête. De par sa conception, le programme est immersif, intense et expérientiel.

Organisations de soutien

SOtL North est soutenu par le Centre for Engineering in Society de l'Université Concordia, l'Institut de recherche sur la science, la société et la politique publique de l'Université d'Ottawa, la Chaire en Science et Société de l'Université de Waterloo, le Center for Expressive Technologies de la California Polytechnic State University et the School for the Future of Innovation in Society de l'Université de l'État d'Arizona.

Haut de page