Mitacs - Canadian Science Policy Fellowship

About the Canadian Science Policy Fellowship

Mitacs is committed to fostering policy leadership among Canada’s researchers and we have worked to identify ways to integrate academic research and evidence-informed policy-making with federal and provincial governments. In collaboration with Canada’s research and policy communities, Mitacs has established the Canadian Science Policy Fellowship, the first initiative of its kind in Canada.

The MITACS’ Canadian Science Policy Fellowship program forms mutually beneficial relationships between government decision makers and academic researchers in support of policy challenges in Canada and enhance science communication, collaboration, and policy capacity in government departments and agencies. ISSP members supports the program by delivering training sessions to incoming fellows each fall (24 fellows per year).

The program

The fellowship provides a 12-month immersion into the policy-making process. Working in host offices with government decision makers and stakeholders, fellows contribute their academic expertise and analytical skills to inform policy actions. Fellows’ participation in policy activities provides them with the direct training and experience to address challenges of national public importance.

During the fellowship, Mitacs and its partners provide professional development, skill-building, and networking events, which will enhance fellows’ policy-related knowledge and capabilities and expand their networks. Mitacs instructor-led courses are mandatory and focus on developing two central themes: increasing awareness of Canadian public policy (federal and/or provincial), and strengthening communication and relationship building skills with diverse stakeholders, including government and academia.

Support Organisations

The fellowship is made possible thanks to the Government of Canada and participating government offices; the Government of British Columbia and participating government offices; the University of Ottawa’s Institute for Science, Society and Policy; Professor Sarah Otto, Department of Zoology, University of British Columbia; the University of Victoria; and the Canadian Science Policy Fellowship Advisory Council. Participating hosts for the fellowship include host offices from the Governments of Canada and British Columbia, and Quebec.

The ISSP was proud to partner again with Mitacs to provide training on science policy, evidence-informed decision-making and public administration to the 2018-2019 cohort of the Canadian Science Policy Fellows program in Ottawa. The Fellowship program, which places post-doctoral fellows and faculty members in science policy positions in government departments and agencies, is in its third year of operation.

Back to top

Mitacs - Bourse pour l’élaboration de politiques scientifiques canadiennes

À propos de la Bourse pour l’élaboration de politiques scientifiques canadiennes

Mitacs est déterminé à favoriser un leadership en matière de politiques parmi les chercheurs canadiens, et nous avons travaillé afin de trouver des façons d’intégrer la recherche universitaire avec les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux afin d’aider à appuyer l’élaboration de politiques fondées sur des données probantes.

Le programme de Bourse pour l’élaboration de politiques scientifiques canadiennes de MITACS établit des relations mutuellement bénéfiques entre les décideurs gouvernementaux et les chercheurs universitaires afin de soutenir les défis politiques au Canada et d’améliorer la communication scientifique, la collaboration et la capacité en matière de politiques des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux. Les membres de l'ISSP soutiennent le programme en proposant des sessions de formation aux nouveaux membres chaque automne (24 membres par année).

Le programme

La bourse offre une immersion de 12 mois dans le processus d’élaboration de politiques. Travaillant dans des bureaux d’accueil de concert avec des décideurs et des intervenants du gouvernement, les chercheurs mettent à profit leur expertise universitaire et leurs compétences en analyse pour orienter des mesures dans le domaine des politiques. La participation des chercheurs aux activités liées à l’élaboration de politiques leur procure de la formation directe et de l’expérience nécessaires pour relever des défis ayant une importance pour le public à l’échelle nationale.

Pendant la bourse, Mitacs et ses partenaires fournissent du perfectionnement professionnel, de la création de compétences et des activités de réseautage, qui amélioreront les connaissances et les capacités en matière de politiques des chercheurs en plus d’élargir leurs réseaux. Les cours de perfectionnement professionnel de Mitacs sont obligatoires et sont axés sur deux principaux thèmes : accroître la conscientisation par rapport aux politiques publiques au Canada (fédérales et/ou provinciales) et renforcer les compétences en communication et en création de relations avec diverses parties prenantes, y compris le gouvernement et le milieu universitaire.

Organisations de soutien

cette bourse est rendue possible grâce au gouvernement du Canada et aux bureaux gouvernementaux participants; au gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique et aux bureaux gouvernementaux participants; à l’Institut de recherche sur la science, la société et la politique publique de l’Université d’Ottawa; à la professeure Sarah Otto, du Département de zoologie à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique; à l’Université de Victoria ainsi qu’au comité consultatif de la Bourse pour l’élaboration de politiques scientifiques canadiennes.

L'ISSP était fier de collaborer à nouveau avec Mitacs afin d'offrir une formation sur la politique scientifique, la prise de décision fondée sur des données probantes et l'administration publique à la cohorte 2018-2019 du programme de Bourse pour l’élaboration de politiques scientifiques canadiennes à Ottawa. Le programme, qui place des chercheurs postdoctoraux et des professeurs à des postes de politique scientifique au sein de ministères et d'organismes gouvernementaux, est à sa troisième année d'existence. 

Haut de page