The Bromley Memorial Event

About the event

The annual Bromley Memorial event provides graduate students from uOttawa with the opportunity to meet and exchange ideas with senior science and technology (S&T) policy advisors from various countries, sectors and levels of government in Washington D.C. and in Ottawa.

It involves students from Canada and the United States, with the event alternating each year between Ottawa and Washington, D.C. The keystone activity of each Bromley Event is the Bromley Lecture, delivered by a leader in S&T policy.

Background

One of the world’s leading nuclear physicists, D. Allan Bromley was born in Westmeath, Ontario, in 1926 and held degrees from Queen’s University and the University of Rochester. Dr. Bromley sat on President Regan’s White House Science Council and was the first person to hold the Cabinet-level rank of Assistant to the President for Science and Technology from 1989 to 1993, a position he held during the administration of George H.W. Bush. D. Allan Bromley died in 2005.

Founded by Dr. John de la Mothe, a Canada Research Chair and Professor at the University of Ottawa, the event is now managed by Paul Dufour, ISSP Fellow and Adjunct Professor and Dr. Nicholas Vonortas of George Washington University.

The Bromley Lectures

2017

2015

2014

Travel Awards

The ISSP offers travel awards to current uOttawa graduate students conducting science and policy research relevant for Canada.

Expenses for flights and lodging are covered between Ottawa and Washington.

Students must apply to participate, by submitting their CV and a paragraph about their interests in science, technology and innovation to the ISSP, when applications open.

Back to top

L’événement commémoratif Bromley

À propos de l'événement

L'événement commemoratif Bromley offre aux étudiants deuxième ou troisième cycle de l'Université d'Ottawa l'occasion de rencontrer et d'échanger des idées avec des conseillers politiques principaux en science et technologie (S & T) de divers pays, secteurs et ordres de gouvernement à Washington D.C.et à Ottawa.

Il implique des étudiants du Canada et des États-Unis avec l’événement qui alternait chaque année entre Ottawa et Washington, D.C. L’activité principale de chaque événement Bromley est la conférence Bromley, présenté par un leader en politique de S&T.

    L'événement commémoratif Bromley 2020 se tiendra à l'Université George Washington le 15 avril 2020. Immédiatement après, le 20e conférence STGlobal se tiendra les 16 au 18 avril 2020 à la National Academy of Sciences à Washington, DC.

    L'histoire

    Allan Bromley, l’un des plus grands physiciens nucléaires du monde, est né en 1926 à Westmeath, en Ontario, et était diplômé de l’Université Queen’s et de la University of Rochester. M. Bromley a siégé au conseil scientifique de la Maison-Blanche sous le président Reagan et a été le premier titulaire du poste d’adjoint au président en science et technologie rattaché au Cabinet de 1989 à 1993, sous l’administration de George H.W. Bush. Le Dr. Bromley est décédé en 2005.

    Fondé en 2005 par Dr. John de la Mothe, Chaire de recherche canadienne et professeur à l’Université d’Ottawa, l’événement est maintenant géré par Paul Dufour, Professionnel en résidence et Professeur associé de l'ISSP et Dr Nicholas Vonortas de la George Washington University.

    Les conférences Bromley

    2017

    2015

    2014

    Bourses de voyage

    L'ISSP offre des bourses de voyage aux étudiants de deuxième ou troisième cycle de l'Université d'Ottawa mener des recherches scientifiques et stratégiques pertinentes pour le Canada.

    Les frais de vol et d'hébergement sont couverts entre Ottawa et Washington.

    Les étudiant(e)s doivent postuler pour participer, en soumettant leur CV et un paragraphe sur leurs intérêts en science, technologie et innovation à l'ISSP, quand les soumissions ouvrent.

    Haut de page