Mind the Gap: Bridging Human Creativity and Machine Learning

About the event

On Tuesday, May 11, from 5:00 PM to 6:30 PM, the ISSP and the RCIS will host an expert panel discussion on AI and machine learning.

Recent advances in artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning will lead some to question whether this statement still holds true. While computers have been used to assist with creative processes for some time, the creative input has largely been human. Nowadays, we’re training AI to write news articles, poems and novels, create paintings, produce video games and even compose music. Interest in machine learning will likely only increase as demand for fast, smart, original work - without the need for human endeavour and expense - rises.

Will AI and machine learning augment or replace human creativity? How do we teach creativity to the next generation in a world of AI and machine learning? And how do we ensure teaching creativity and innovation in this world remains inclusive?

Register now!

Welcome Remarks

Monica Gattinger

Prof. Monica Gatinger, Director, ISSP and Full Professor at the School of Political Studies, uOttawa

Moderator

Denise Amyot

Denise Amyot, Chair of the Advisory Committee, ISSP, uOttawa and President and CEO, Colleges and Institutes Canada (CICan)

Speakers


Prof. David Cropley, Professor of Engineering Innovation, University of South Australia

David Cropley's research interests span creativity in schools and education, assessing organisational innovation capacity, and the nexus of creative problem solving and engineering. Now a recognised expert in creative problem solving and innovation, Dr David Cropley was a scientific consultant and on-screen expert for the Australian ABC TV Documentaries Redesign My Brain (2013), Life at 9 (2014) and Redesign My BrainSeries 2 (2015).



Prof. Matthew Guzdial, Assistant Professor, Computing Science, University of Alberta and CIFAR AI Chair

Matthew Guzdial' research focuses on the intersection of machine learning, creativity, and human-centered computing. This includes investigating machine learning-based automated game generation, human-AI design collaboration, and improving machine learning transfer and generalization with computational creativity. He is a recipient of an Early Career Researcher Award from NSERC, a Unity Graduate Fellowship, and two best conference paper awards. His work has been featured in the BBC, WIRED, Popular Science, and Time.



Dr. Val Walker, CEO, Business + Higher Education Roundtable (BHER)

Val Walker leads the Business + Higher Education Roundtable (BHER). As CEO of this member-based not-for-profit organization, she sets BHER’s strategic direction and leads a strong team focused on building new opportunities in Canada’s skills and innovation ecosystem through collaboration. Beyond this, Val serves as co-chair of the Future Skills Council – a group established by the Government of Canada to advise on national and regional skills development and training priorities. She also speaks and advises regularly on innovation and talent. Prior to BHER, Val was the Vice President, Innovation and Skills, at the Business Council of Canada and Director of Policy at Mitacs. She holds a PhD from McGill University and is an alumna of the Government of Canada’s Recruitment of Policy Leaders Program.

Closing Remarks

Helle Tosine

Helle Tosine, Past Board Chair, Royal Canadian Institute for Science

Related Links

Back to top

Mind the Gap: Bridging Human Creativity and Machine Learning

À propos de l'événement

Le mardi 11 mai, de 17h00 à 18h30, l'ISSP et le RCIS accueilleront une table ronde d'experts sur l'IA et l'apprentissage automatique.

Les progrès récents de l'intelligence artificielle (IA) et de l'apprentissage automatique amèneront certains à se demander si cette affirmation est toujours vraie. Alors que les ordinateurs ont été utilisés pour aider les processus de création pendant un certain temps, l'apport créatif a été en grande partie humain. De nos jours, nous formons l'IA à écrire des articles de presse, des poèmes et des romans, à créer des peintures, à produire des jeux vidéo et même à composer de la musique. L'intérêt pour l'apprentissage automatique ne fera probablement qu'augmenter à mesure que la demande de travaux rapides, intelligents et originaux - sans effort humain ni dépenses - augmente.

Est-ce que l'IA et l'apprentissage automatique augmenteront ou remplaceront la créativité humaine ? Comment enseigner la créativité à la prochaine génération dans un monde d'IA et d'apprentissage automatique ? Et comment garantir que l'enseignement de la créativité et de l'innovation dans ce monde reste inclusif ?

Inscrivez-vous dès maintenant !

Mot de bienvenue

Monica Gattinger

Prof. Monica Gattinger, Directrice, ISSP et Professeure titulaire à l’École d’études politiques, uOttawa

Animatrice

Denise Amyot

Denise Amyot, Présidente du Comité consultatif de l'ISSP, uOttawa et Présidente-directrice générale, Collèges et instituts Canada (CICan)

Conférenciers invités


Prof. David Cropley, Professeur d'innovation en génie, University of South Australia

Les intérêts de recherche de David Cropley couvrent la créativité dans les écoles et l'éducation, l'évaluation de la capacité d'innovation organisationnelle et le lien entre la résolution créative de problèmes et l'ingénierie. Aujourd'hui un expert reconnu en résolution de problèmes créatifs et en innovation, David Cropley, PhD. a été consultant scientifique et expert à l'écran pour les documentaires australiens de la ABC TV Redesign My Brain (2013), Life at 9 (2014) et Redesign My Brain, Series 2 (2015).



Prof. Matthew Guzdial, Professeur adjoint, science informatique, Université de l'Alberta et titulaire de la chaire CIFAR IA

Les recherches de Matthew Guzdial se concentrent sur l'intersection de l'apprentissage automatique, de la créativité et de l'informatique centrée sur l'humain. Cela comprend l'étude de la génération de jeux automatisés basée sur l'apprentissage automatique, la collaboration de conception humain-IA et l'amélioration du transfert et de la généralisation de l'apprentissage automatique avec la créativité informatique. Il est récipiendaire d'un prix de chercheur en début de carrière du CRSNG, d'une bourse d'études supérieures Unity et de deux prix de meilleurs articles dans des conférences. Son travail a été présenté dans la BBC, WIRED, Popular Science et Time.



Val Walker, PhD., PDG, Table ronde des affaires + de l’enseignement supérieur (TRAES)

C’est Valerie qui pilote la Table ronde des affaires + de l’enseignement supérieur (TRAES), une association de membres sans but lucratif. Chargée d’établir l’orientation stratégique de l’organisation, elle dirige une équipe solide vouée à créer, grâce à la collaboration, de nouvelles ouvertures dans l’écosystème canadien des compétences et de l’innovation. En parallèle, elle copréside le Conseil des Compétences futures, un groupe formé par le gouvernement du Canada pour formuler des recommandations sur les priorités régionales et nationales en matière de formation et de perfectionnement. Il n’est d’ailleurs pas rare qu’elle s’exprime et prodigue des conseils sur l’innovation et le développement des talents. Autrefois vice-présidente à l’innovation et aux talents du Conseil canadien des affaires et directrice des politiques pour Mitacs, Valerie possède un doctorat de l’Université McGill et a participé au Programme de recrutement de leaders en politiques du gouvernement du Canada.

Mot de clôture

Helle Tosine

Helle Tosine, Ancienne présidente du conseil d’administration, Royal Canadian Institute for Science
Haut de page