The Bromley Memorial Event

About the event

The annual Bromley Memorial event provides graduate students from uOttawa with the opportunity to meet and exchange ideas with senior science and technology (S&T) policy advisors from various countries, sectors and levels of government in Washington D.C. and in Ottawa.

It involves students from Canada and the United States, with the event alternating each year between Ottawa and Washington, D.C. The keystone activity of each Bromley Event is the Bromley Lecture, delivered by a leader in S&T policy.


One of the world’s leading nuclear physicists, D. Allan Bromley was born in Westmeath, Ontario, in 1926 and held degrees from Queen’s University and the University of Rochester. Dr. Bromley sat on President Regan’s White House Science Council and was the first person to hold the Cabinet-level rank of Assistant to the President for Science and Technology from 1989 to 1993, a position he held during the administration of George H.W. Bush. D. Allan Bromley died in 2005.

Founded by Dr. John de la Mothe, a Canada Research Chair and Professor at the University of Ottawa, the event is now managed by Paul Dufour, ISSP Fellow and Adjunct Professor and Dr. Nicholas Vonortas of George Washington University.

The Bromley Lectures




Travel Awards

The ISSP offers travel awards to current uOttawa graduate students conducting science and policy research relevant for Canada.

Expenses for flights and lodging are covered between Ottawa and Washington.

Students must apply to participate, by submitting their CV and a paragraph about their interests in science, technology and innovation to the ISSP, when applications open.

Back to top